INTERVIEW WITH : STIAN FREDHEIM

This is the second interview of the season, again with an U23 rider, just out of the junior ranks. This interview was conducted at the beginning of the season, which is why some questions may seem anachronistic, or why we don’t mention some subjects. Since then, Stian has had a great start to the season, finishing in the top 10 of the Olympia’s Tour, in the top 20 of the Gent U23, or on the podium of the Triptyque des Monts et Châteaux. All these great performances allowed him to sign a pro contract with the Uno-X pro team until 2025. I let you discover the rest!

Cycling Talents : First of all, why did you choose the Uno-X project, what made you want to join the reserve team?

Stian Fredheim : I think the team has a really good development plan and a great philosophy. The spirit and everything were so good, and it felt like a place where I belonged and had thoughts for my future on the team. (Ed. This is all very real in the light of this new contract!)

CT : We saw that Uno-X did not hesitate to bring riders up for some races, is this one of the reasons?

S.F : Yes, I think Uno-X is very good at hospitating riders from the development team to the pro team, and you can always get your chances!

CT : How was the training camp in Altea with the team? Did you get to meet the rest of the group and Sebastian Kirkedam Larsen?

S.F : The preparation was very good! We had a gathering in December and another one at the beginning of February. We did a lot of good training work, and got to know the boys in the team better!

Stian (second from right) during the training camp in Altea with the Uno-X team / Wordup Project (@wordupprojects)

CT : Your victory in Paris-Roubaix was one of the highlights of your season, can you tell us about the race and the final physically and tactically?

S.F : Per and I were there with Alec. It was a wet and hard day that I will never forget. We took advantage of the fact that we were two against one and managed to get out of it in a good way.

CT : How were the selections and tactics organised with such a homogeneous level in the Norwegian junior team?

S.F : There was very good team morale in the Junior National Team last year. It was like being on a trip with a bunch of friends and we all wanted each other to achieve a victory!

CT : Was it motivating or frustrating?

S.F : I think it was motivating to know that our team was so strong that it was possible to go home with victory in all the races we competed in.

CT : What do you consider to be the greatest achievement in your young cycling career?

S.F : I think Roubaix is my biggest achievement along with the stage win at the Junior Course de la Paix. But what really pushed me to focus on cycling was the stage win I got at the Radjugentour when I was an u17 rider.

Stian winner of the 2021 edition of Paris-Roubaix Junior / @Philippe Seys

CT : What are your goals for this first season in the U23 category?

S.F : My goals are to step up a level and learn as much as possible to develop into the best cyclist I can be.

CT : And in the future?

S.F : My goal for the future is to become a professional cyclist and live the dream of a cycling career!

CT : How would you define yourself as a cyclist? Does the name “classic rider” fit you or would you characterise yourself differently?

S.F : Classic rider fits very well, like hard races with some slopes and technical challenges is what suits me best.

CT : Do you have a certain idea of how many years you still want to do or a goal to achieve before turning pro, or as soon as the opportunity of the WT presents itself you will take it?

S.F : I do not need to become a WT rider right away, as long as I get my development and the progression I want. I will take the time it takes. (Ed. Stian has finally joined the Uno-X pro team until 2025, unless the team obtains a WT license as it wishes, or he breaks his contract as Uno-X management allows its riders to do and joins a team in the upper echelon, he should not sign a WT contract until it expires.)

Stian almost winning the first stage of the Triptyque des Monts et Châteaux 2022 / @Eddy Verhulst

CT : Which race would you dream of winning in the coming years?

S.F : I would say Paris-Roubaix or the Ronde.

CT : And now if you don’t mind, some quick questions:

CT : Drum Brake / Disc Brake?

S.F : Disc brake.

CT : Solo training / Group training?

S.F : Group training.

CT : Paris-Roubaix / Ronde van Vlaanderen?

S.F : Difficult choice but I would say Paris-Roubaix.

CT : Muddy Paris-Roubaix / Dry Paris-Roubaix ?

S.F : Muddy !!!!

CT : Riding under the Norwegian snow / Riding under the Spanish sun ?

S.F : The spanish sun!

CT : Lillehammer GP / Gylne Gutuer ?

S.F : Gylne Gutuer.

CT : Red 🔴 / Yellow 🟡 ?

S.F : Red.

I would like to thank Stian for giving me this interview and for taking the time to answer my questions. I hope you enjoyed this article; the next one should be with a junior rider… Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started